SCHOOLS AND PROGRAMS…
An entire website could easily be devoted to schools and programs involving the criminal justice in California alone. Then there are programs that might be accepted by the California Superior Court in lieu of prosecution, as rehabilitation necessarily considered one of the basic principles of punishment. Those being deterrence, retribution, and rehabilitation. The latter of which many criminal defense lawyers feel that prosecutors, the courts, and “prosecutors now on your side” largely ignore and give very little thought as to the value and effectiveness.
The below stated list is not to be considered an exhaustive list, but merely a reminder of the types of schools and programs you may wish to speak to your attorney about the benefits and or consequences involved while being engaged with either. San Diego Defenders may be retained to handle your case without coming into the office (prior to the receipt of police reports) with the use of a telephone, email, skype, and or facetime. Of Course, a number of the courses listed below, but certainly not all, may be taken and completed online for nominal fee. Please understand that San Diego Defenders does not keep a list of the ever changing costs of these programs, however, a quick online search followed by a phone call will give you that cost, so always have paper and pen ready when making an inquiry.
As for Driving in California, it is important to know that if you are cited for a DUI you have 10 days from date of arrest (when you are presumably given an admin per se “30 day temporary driving permit” in which to request a hearing which is absolutely crucial in most cases. Upon entering a Alcohol Education class, you may be eligible for a “restricted driving license” within 30 days with other requirements such as an SR-22 filing, proof of enrollment, and a DMV administrative fee. Again, this only applies in certain situations and there are other conditions to be aware of. Please call Defenders at (619) 258-8888 for full details.
Schools, In-Patient and Out-patient Programs
1. Driving School – to avoid one-point infraction on DMV record.
2. Wet or Dry Reckless Violation (depending on judge) 12 hour alcohol education class.
3. DUI – First Conviction Program (FCP) – 3 month ( .19 or under) or 9 month (over .19) program depending upon factors including BAC.
4. Multiple DUI Program (SB-38) 18 month program
5. SCRAM ankle bracelet device to monitor drinking and and sometimes location for “house arrest.
6 Residential Drug and Alcohol Centers such as, County funded Fellowship House and private placement such as bible base Calvary Ranch, and Scripps McDonald’s House.
7. County Work Furlough – must have wage paying job although some exceptions are made.
8. ESP much under-used County funded electronic surveilence program.
9. Various private Sober Living homes together with out-patient programs and AA meetings.
10. 500 hour drug program for federal inmates allowing for one-year reduction in sentence to be served in half-way house.
Court Programs etc. – mandated via Statute
1. PC 1000 – low level personal use drug programs with various eligibility requirements
2. Prop 36 – one-year program more rigorous drug program
3. Shop Lifters program – Available Theft Classes Online: 4, 8, 10 and 16 Hour Classes ranging from $95 to $245 from 10 approved providers.
5. Anger Management – usually ordered with a simple assault and battery case.
6. Domestic Violence 52 week course – ordered with many Corporal Injury to Spouse of Live in Inhabitant convictions.
San Diego County DUI Programs:
Occupational Health Services DUI Program
1050 Los Vallecitos Boulevard, #109
San Marcos, CA 92069
PHONE: (760) 752-5300
ECS East County ACCORD DUI Program
7474 El Cajon Blvd.
La Mesa, CA 91941
SDSU Central District DUI Program
9245 Sky Park Court, #101
San Diego, CA 92123
MAAC Project DUI Program
1355 Third Avenue
Chula Vista, CA 91911
This is only a partial list of many Schools, Courses, and Programs. Most courses are offered in Spanish as well.